syslog-ng documentation

Your main source of knowledge

The syslog-ng product family has an extensive documentation, covering everything from how to install a product to the most complex configuration and settings descriptions. If you cannot find an answer to your question, try the mailing list - our community is always eager to help.

syslog-ng Premium Edition

Contents The PRI message part

The PRI part of the syslog message (known as Priority value) represents the Facility and Severity of the message. Facility represents the part of the system sending the message, while severity marks its importance. The Priority value is calculated by first multiplying the Facility number by 8 and then adding the numerical value of the Severity. The possible facility and severity values are presented below.


Facility codes may slightly vary between different platforms. The syslog-ng application accepts facility codes as numerical values as well.

Numerical CodeFacility
0kernel messages
1user-level messages
2mail system
3system daemons
4security/authorization messages
5messages generated internally by syslogd
6line printer subsystem
7network news subsystem
8UUCP subsystem
9clock daemon
10security/authorization messages
11FTP daemon
12NTP subsystem
13log audit
14log alert
15clock daemon
16-23locally used facilities (local0-local7)

Table 2.2. syslog Message Facilities

The following table lists the severity values.

Numerical CodeSeverity
0Emergency: system is unusable
1Alert: action must be taken immediately
2Critical: critical conditions
3Error: error conditions
4Warning: warning conditions
5Notice: normal but significant condition
6Informational: informational messages
7Debug: debug-level messages

Table 2.3. syslog Message Severities